Northeast Ohio Trade & Economic Consortium

Upcoming Events



P.O. Box 5190
Kent, OH 44242
Phone: 330-672-4080
or 800-793-0912
International: 001-330-672-4080


John Senese
President & CEO
Certified Global Business Professional (CGBP)

Office: 330.672.4080
Direct line: 440.334.7816
Toll-free: 800.793.0912

John Senese joined the Northeast Ohio Trade & Economic Consortium (NEOTEC) in March 2007 as director of operations for its International Trade Assistance Center (ITAC) program. In 2011, he was named vice president of international operations for NEOTEC, and in 2012 helped launch NEOTEC’s Global Trade Group (GTG) division, which provides a complete realm of global trade solutions for companies from basic export assistance to long-term, dedicated international trade support. He was named President and CEO in April 2018.  Mr. Senese has 35 years of experience working for major multinational companies in the chemical, automotive and plastics industries, with 28 years directly focused on international business management.

He began his career in Alaska and moved to Cleveland in the late 1980s to join the international department at B.F. Goodrich. He spent the next 14 years progressing through increasingly responsible positions, including two expatriate assignments in Europe and a corporate role as managing director for their South America business. Mr. Senese subsequently joined Myers Industries as general manager of their international division, where he managed an organization consisting of seven international and two domestic locations and sales in more than 100 countries around the world.

From 2007 to 2011, Mr. Senese served two consecutive terms on the board of the Northern Ohio District Export Council (NODEC), an advisory group to the U.S. Department of Commerce Export Assistance Center. He currently serves on the boards of the British-American Chamber of Commerce and the Northeast Ohio International Business Network.  He is also an adjunct professor at Baldwin Wallace University's School of Business.

Ronald W. DeBarr
Executive in Residence
Accredited Zones Specialist (AZS)


Ronald (Ron) W. DeBarr currently serves as Executive in Residence for NEOTEC, where he focuses on the Foreign-Trade Zones Program and provides expertise with other economic development initiatives including logistics and global trade.  He joined NEOTEC as Executive Director in May 2001, and served as President and CEO from July 2005 through March 2018.

Mr. DeBarr has facilitated the dramatic growth in recent years of the Foreign-Trade Zone #181 program in Northeast Ohio, for which NEOTEC serves as grantee. In 2012, he entered into an agreement with the Port of Cleveland to become Zone Administrator of Foreign-Trade Zone #40. Both zones combined create one of the largest FTZ programs in the United States. He was also instrumental in establishing a forum for logistics professionals in the region through the formation and administration of the 200-member Northeast Ohio Logistics Network.

Mr. DeBarr is past president of the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals – Cleveland Roundtable. He also served on the Business Advisory Board at Walsh University, where he received his B.A. degree in Business Management.

Professional affiliations have included the National Association of Foreign-Trade Zones (NAFTZ), where he had served as Vice Chairman to the Board of Directors and received certification as an Accredited Zones Specialist. He was appointed to the Northern Ohio District Export Council by U.S. Secretary of Commerce Gary Locke, and to the board of the Northeast Ohio International Business Network. He was also inducted into the Phi Beta Delta Society of International Scholars.

Marilyn R. Morgan
Director of Marketing

Marilyn Morgan joined NEOTEC as Development Associate in 2001, and has served as Director of Marketing for NEOTEC since September 2004. In this capacity, she has worked to develop and implement marketing programs to promote NEOTEC’s economic development efforts.

As Director of Marketing, Ms. Morgan is responsible for developing and coordinating a variety of marketing functions for NEOTEC, including meeting and event planning, press releases, print advertising, media opportunities, marketing collateral materials, and web site review and maintenance .

Prior to joining NEOTEC, Ms. Morgan had accumulated 20 years of experience in various marketing, advertising and public relations positions, including Public Relations Specialist with Nestle, Inc., in Solon, Ohio; Media Director for Alside, Inc., in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio; and Director of Marketing for Canadian-based Kitchen Craft Cabinetry.

Ms. Morgan received her B.S. degree in Journalism from Kent State University.


Vicki Sott
Operations Manager

Vicki Sott joined the Northeast Ohio Trade & Economic Consortium (NEOTEC) in 2006, serving first as Administrative Assistant and Office Manager, before being named Operations Manager in 2012.

As Operations Manager, Ms. Sott is responsible for establishing, implementing, and maintaining office methods and procedures for the office. She also is responsible for analyzing and reviewing monthly reports and special accounts; and testing for validity of accounting activity. Recently, she facilitated the implementation of QuickBooks, an accounting software program, while managing daily accounting activities and updating accounts payable and receivables.

Prior to joining NEOTEC, Ms. Sott had accumulated 18 years of experience in a variety of diverse administrative environments. As a high school student, she served as a receptionist for Ravenna School District. While attending Kent State University, she served as Secretary/Office Manager for S. H. Brown & Associates in Kent. She later held various administrative duties within Ravenna School District, which included Secretary to the School Treasurer, and later as a coordinator for substitute teachers and teacher assistance from her home office. During this time, she also provided daycare services for pre-school aged children.

Ms. Sott received her Associates Degree in Secretarial Sciences from the Trumbull County Branch of Kent State University.