Upcoming Events



P.O. Box 5190
Kent, OH 44242
Phone: 330-672-4080
or 800-793-0912
International: 001-330-672-4080
Email: mmorgan@neotec.org


 Summit County Executive Russ Pry Elected as Chairman of the Northeast Ohio Joint Office of Economic Development

January 14, 2011

The Northeast Ohio Trade & Economic Consortium (NEOTEC) announced that Summit County Executive Russell Pry has been elected as chairman of the Northeast Ohio Joint Office of Economic Development (JOED) for 2011.  Other officers include Mahoning County Commissioner John McNally as vice chairman, and Ashtabula County Commissioner Joe Moroski as secretary.  NEOTEC, a nonprofit, multicounty regional partnership, provides economic development services on behalf of the JOED, which is comprised of the county executive and commissioners of the nine NEOTEC member counties.

“I am looking forward to serving Northeast Ohio in this important capacity,” said Pry. “As one of the founding members of NEOTEC, Summit County has long recognized the importance of regionalism and has been an active supporter of NEOTEC’s economic development initiatives. I am strongly committed to furthering these initiatives and collaborating with our partners in the business, government and economic development communities to enhance Northeast Ohio as a leader in the global economy,” Pry said.

NEOTEC works to attract business investment in the region by promoting domestic and international trade, and strengthening the region’s distinct advantages as a business location. NEOTEC programs include the International Trade Assistance Center division, which provides export counseling assistance to area companies, Foreign-Trade Zone 181, a global supply chain management tool that provides cost savings for area companies engaged in international business, the Northeast Ohio Logistics Network, which works to improve market access in Northeast Ohio and promote the region’s logistics strengths, and the Global Business Development Initiative, a program to attract foreign direct investment in the region.

Member counties include Ashtabula, Columbiana, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit, and Trumbull.  NEOTEC is based in Kent on the campus of Kent State University, which partners with NEOTEC in its economic development efforts.